GAME OF THRONES Writer Confirms Seven Novels; Starting Book Six Next Year

George R.R. Martin, the creator of HBO's newest smash hit series which is adapted from his line of novels, has reaffirmed that seven books will end the series, but he's in no hurry to begin writing the sixth.


Game of Thrones is an HBO adaptation of George R.R. Martin's epic fantasy novel series "A Song of Ice and Fire". Set in the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, where summers span decades and winters can last a lifetime, Game of Thrones chronicles the violent dynastic struggles among the kingdom's seven noble families for control of the Iron Throne; as the series opens, additional threats from the snow and ice covered region north of Westeros and from the eastern continent across a narrow sea are simultaneously beginning to rise.


The fifth novel, 'A Dance With Dragons' hits stores July 12th and that book comes six years after the fourth. Before that, there was a gap of five years. Martin is now a much busier man having signed a deal with HBO to help write episodes for the hit adaptation of his 'A Song of Ice and Fire' saga. With season two of the HBO series coming early 2012, that's already two novels adapted into two seasons. At that quick rate and with Martin's track record of taking his time with the novels, it would appear the TV series will indeed catch up to the source material rather quickly. The 62-year-old author, who has been hailed as the American Tolkein, has a definite ending to his saga in mind but still plans for seven novels before it's finished.

“Yes. Seven kingdoms, seven gods, seven books. Seven seems fitting, but until I get out of book six, I’m not sure. I won’t have a chance to start working on book six until next year," said Martin.

Game of Thrones stars Sean Bean, Mark Addy, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Michelle Fairley, Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, Iain Glen, Aidan Gillen, Harry Lloyd, Kit Harington, Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams, Richard Madden, Alfie Allen, Isaac Hempstead-Wright, Jack Gleeson, Rory McCann, Peter Dinklage, and Jason Momoa. The series is executive produced by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss; co-executive producers, Carolyn Strauss, Guymon Casady, Vince Gerardis, Ralph Vicinanza and George R.R. Martin; producers, Mark Huffam and Frank Doelger.



ckal's picture

keven- Just want to let you know that you have made a mistake. The fourth book was "A Feast For Crows," not "A Storm of Swords," which was the third book.

Keven  |  Senior Editor

Keven's picture

my source screwed em up - fixed thanks Ckal


ckal's picture

No problem.